Regina Holliday’s Two Stories Jacket and Preeclampsia Awareness Month

Image

Regina Holliday #thewalkinggallery

One more time last night, I was in tears, tears of joy and disbelief. Tears that my baby is six, and as healthy as can be. Tears that he can sing and make jokes and play with his friends and be told by girls that he’s so cute.

It happens to me at every party and school concert and every milestone.

See, I have two stories in my mind all the time. Due to Regina Holliday and her #TheWalkingGallery I also have them on a jacket and I’m proudly wearing them at every health IT conference that I go to.

But back to my story… On my first pregnancy, I had preeclampsia. For me this was the disease that happens at the end of pregnancy and makes “them” decide to do a c-section instead of a vaginal delivery. Even though I was at risk for it, I was not told what to look for and what it is until I got into the hospital at six months with dangerously high hypertension. My first baby was stillborn and I was in the hospital really sick for another week after that.

One can imagine the fear, trepidation and amount of reading that we went through before and during our second pregnancy. My second son was delivered safely at 8 months and is as healthy as a kid can be. I still had high blood pressure throughout my pregnancy, but always knew what symptoms to look for.

 The Preeclampsia Foudation is an amazing organization where we went for information and emotional support. They are a source of engagement and empowerment of women to learn and know more about their health during pregnancy and beyond. It is Preeclampsia Awareness Month. Please head over and learn a thing or two. You might help a pregnant woman in her time of need!

A nice touch was the last ACOG meeting that recognized the importance of preeclampsia.

Posted on May 11, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you. Leave a comment below!

