Alert fatigue

I was working on a new small web application and I had to build a login screen. If the password is wrong I can pop a message window. The user would have to click the OK and go back to the password to reenter it. If I simply displayed a message on the login screen itself, I saved a click and the time to open/close a window.

It’s this kind of issues that an experienced IT professional could do in healthcare even without healthcare experience: I know what can be done, I know how to tell the developer what to do. Developers love challenges, but they like precise instructions: instead of there are too many windows popping up, and too many things to click, tell them exactly what to do.

About Ileana Balcu

Passionate about healthcare, participatory medicine, e-patients, databases, IT and Health IT, social media, communication, teams and yoga. Proudly volunteering for the Society for Participatory Medicine http://participatorymedicine.org #s4pm

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you. Leave a comment below!

